New Hammock!

One of the most difficult things to plan for is my sleeping situation whether it’s for my 24 hour search and rescue pack or for camping.  I’ve seen more and more people switch over to a full hammock setup for camping and they are light enough to just keep in the SAR pack so I thought I’d give it a try.

Deciding to get a hammock was the easiest part. After that you need to decide if you want to make one yourself, or buy one.  Then there are cinches and whoopie slings and tree straps….then what material… then a tarp…  The best explanation that I found was a series of videos from Shug on YouTube.

After figuring out what I wanted to go with I found recommendations for where to buy from on https://hammockforums.net/ and decided to go with Dutchware Gear.  Almost every set up I saw had something from this guy on there.  I went with a 10′ PolyD with 4′ tree straps, whoopie slings and an adjustable ridgeline.  The customer service was some of the best from any company I’ve dealt with and they answered any questions I had via email within the hour.  When I got the hammock the quality was DWStickerFinalamazing and I was glad I decided to buy my first one rather than make it myself.  I can’t wait to get out and use it for an overnight!

hammock-2

hammock hammock-3
hammock-4 hammock-5

One thought on “New Hammock!

Leave a comment